[Book&Film] Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen

Pages: 334 (I counted the last 71)
Time taken to read: 1hr 33mins

Run time: 152 minutes
Subtitles: none

I finally finished the first Harry Potter book (go me!) on the 14th, though I think I’ve been reading it off and on for about two years. Only the last 71 pages counted towards the Super Challenge (hence why it only took me an hour and a half to read – I can’t read the whole book that quickly!), but under the new rules, that’s like 70% of a full book, so I can’t complain.

I decided after this, that since near enough everyone has read the Harry Potter series, I might as well watch the film as well and that way I could talk about them both at the same time.

I do like the first book – and the film, mostly because I remember discovering the book at school when I was about eight and remember my mum taking me to see the film when it came out a few years later. So I get kind of nostalgic about it. Plus, it was so exciting at the time – say what you like about J.K. Rowling, but her world is definitely immersive; there’s just so much detail!

I take issue with the film being dubbed in only one way – I miss Alan Rickman’s voice! Whoever is voicing Snape in the German version does do a good job though, and I really enjoyed it. Hagrid’s voice was a little difficult to follow, but then so is some of his speech in the book – but I imagine it’s not much better if someone’s trying to read the English versions!

I’m about halfway through Harry Potter und die Kammer des Schreckens now, and I plan to do the same sort of thing with that… and with all the other Harry Potter books. I have a feeling that I’m going to hit my fifty book page count before I read fifty books at this rate!

Leave a Reply

