Update: day 50

Ohhhhhh, I have done more or less nothing in the last nineteen days, I’m ashamed to say. I have managed to up my German books to 3 (I’ve read 303 pages), but I’m only on page 239 of Harry Potter und die Kammer des Schreckens, so I’ve really, really not done a lot.

I got some more incentive today though, when these lovely gifts arrived 😀 :

New books! I finally got Harry Potter und der Orden des Phönix, which I didn’t get when I received all the others for Christmas two years ago. (We don’t know what happened there.) It’s 1,020 pages long! It’s not really my favourite of the series either, so I’m not sure whether I’m looking forward to it or not. (Though I guess the 1,000+ pages will be worth 10 books ;D)

The other is my first proper Mandarin novel – 狼图腾 (Wolf Totem). I found it on my wishlist, though I’ve forgotten what it’s about! I hope that at least by the end of this challenge I’ll be able to read the book. It looks so exciting! 😀

Right, now to business: I’m not making any headway – in anything I’m doing in any of my languages. The 6WC and the ranking are very good motivators for me but for some reason the Super Challenge one is less so (probably because I’m so far behind, haha!). Instead, I’ve found something else, for German at least.

Before I move onto any other German books, I want to do one read through of the entire Harry Potter series. This seems a daunting task because the books are so long, but the thing is, when I sit down to read them, I’m reading pretty quickly. Take Die Kammer des Schreckens; I’ve read 232 pages and it’s taken me nearly four and a half hours (yes, I’m tracking times… don’t judge!). At that rate, it should take me just over another hour to finish the book. That is not a long time, but I need to actually sit down and read, instead of thinking everything else is more important. (At the same rate, Harry Potter und der Orden des Phönix should take fifteen hours and twenty minutes, though hopefully I’ll be reading even faster by then.)

So, my idea is this: my year abroad begins some time this September. I don’t want to be carting three or four huge books across to Germany, especially when they’ll take up so much weight allowance. My plan is to read all seven (well, five and a half) books before I leave. This seems entirely possible so long as I carve out the time, should make a massive change to my German, and will mean I have twenty or so books under my belt.

I’m that prepared for German, but I have no idea what to do to improve my Mandarin. Maybe I’ll have a plan for that in my next update ;).

Leave a Reply

