Update: day 64

So, stats for June (overall count in brackets):

Mandarin
Books: 0 (0)
Films: 2 (12)
Writing: 1 (2)

German
Books: 3 (5)
Films: 1 (3)

I’m not doing too badly, I don’t think! I still have yet to read a book in Mandarin, so I’m going to knuckle down and get on with that in July (and might even choose Mandarin for August’s 6WC to keep myself going!). I watched fewer films for Mandarin this month too, though I’m nearly at the end of the series I’ve been watching so I’m hoping to push through with that in the next few days. Underneath the video, there are English subtitles (that are provided by users of the site), but there are Mandarin ones on the video itself, so when I watched an episode yesterday, I tried to look at both sets, to see if I could work out what was happening from the Mandarin subs rather than the English ones. I couldn’t always, but sometimes I did, so that’s confidence-boosting :D. The last piece of writing I did took me ages – it ended up at 600 characters or something close to it – but I really enjoyed it (I re-told the story of Little Red Riding Hood), so I might do a similar piece again soon. Still, I’m going to have to step it up a bit if I want to get 100 pieces of writing done.

For German, I’ve made a lot of progress on the book front. I’m a few chapters into Harry Potter und der Gefangene von Askaban, though I’m going to take some time to work out how much I need to read per day to finish the books before I go away. I’m not doing as well with the films, but I’m not worried about catching up at all. I think I’m going to start watching Avatar – Der Herr der Elemente, because one episode a day is twenty minutes of listening, but I don’t know if I want to count it towards the total. I’m still leaning dangerously towards switching German to the same challenge I’ve got going for Mandarin (writing and all). Still, I’m going to give it a few more weeks and see.

So, we’re officially two months in. I hope everyone else is doing well!

Leave a Reply

