#365daysoflanglearning – Day 36

Hey, guys! I hope you’re all having a nice, relaxed Sunday (I’m enjoying my first day off in two weeks! It’s great!) and you’re ready for a pretty low-key prompt for the day.

Speak to yourself throughout the day in the language you’re learning.

It’s difficult to practise speaking when you don’t have a language partner or native speakers around all the time–even though it’s easier now with the internet–and I find this a good compromise to get myself used to the sounds and those little expressions that I’ll use a lot. Talk to yourself (or, if you have one, a pet!) about anything: yourself, the weather, something you just did… Don’t worry about timing yourself, or hitting a certain target–just try a few sentences a few times today and see how it goes!

Here’s the pic if you want to share the prompt:

#365daysoflanglearning - Day 36

See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “#365daysoflanglearning – Day 36

  1. Hi Charlotte,
    I tell all my students to talk to themselves in their new language. If really does help your brain to get accustomed to hearing yourself speaking “funny”, and as you get used to that strange sound, it helps to reduce embarrassment or awkwardness you may feel while beginning to learn your new language. (Does that make sense?!)
    Regards.Marie.

    Like

    • Hi Marie, that all makes perfect sense haha. I was told to do this a lot when I was learning languages in school (and I definitely didn’t do it as much as I should have), but now I find it so helpful. Even just having conversations in your head can help but saying things out loud does help you feel less awkward later. Thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

